Once you determine your race, you must choose your profession. The universe is filled with individuals performing various occupations. Some are negotiating deals while others keep everything operating. No matter what your profession is, your actions can have a ripple effect across the cosmos. Choose from ten professions divided across five archetypes.

Each archetype bestows upon its professions with specific starting equipment, skills, abilities, and proficiencies.

Starting Equipment
Your archetype determines with what equipment you will start each story. You can determine how you came to have your equipment or let the Architect decide. It could be items passed down through your family, or items you’ve stolen or purchased prior. The Architect is free to give you more, less, or completely different items. Starting equipment include kits, weapons, armor, and money.


Each profession has the opportunity to start off their adventure with money in their pocket to purchase anything they believe they will need to be successful in their objectives. There are six types of currency used in DSDN. Click here to learn more about them. In DSDN, the starting currency is based on four types: Common Credits, Noble Credits, Government Credits, and Quantum Credits. This manual will explain how many of each die you are to roll to determine your starting currency based on your profession. Some professions can roll their starting character level ((Character Level)D4). This means you can take your initial character level (ex: 2) and roll that many D4s to determine how much currency you have. Each starting currency will be stated. If your starting character level is 6, and you are the Engineer, you will received 6D4 Quantum Credits. Roll a D4 six times to determine how many Quantum Credits you will receive.

Each archetype has a set of proficiencies in which to start the adventure.


Each archetype grants to its professions skills in which they are proficient. On your character sheet, check the box under proficient next to the skills that your archetype provides. See here to learn more about skills.


Your archetype will determine what types of kits your profession can use. Kits are extremely valuable as they help you perform certain tasks much more efficiently and effectively. Certain actions can only be taken with proficiency or expertise with a kit. Not all professions use kits as frequently as others. For example, Physicians mainly use one or two kits, making it difficult for them to gain proficiency or expertise in others. Mechanics are the complete opposite, however. See here to learn more about kits.


Your archetype will determine what types of weapons your profession can use without penalty. If you use a weapon that your a not proficient in, you suffer a penalty of -1D4 to every engagement roll made with that weapon.


Your archetype will determine what types of armor your profession can use without penalty. If you use armor that you are not proficient in, you suffer a penalty of -1D4 to every evasion roll.

Honing Skills
Honing skills come only with practice, so each profession learns new skills at different rates. An Engineer, for example, pours themselves into research, designing, and constructing, so learning additional skills is not a priority. Mechanics, on the other hand, face all types of challenges when it comes to trying to serve their customers, always forcing them to learn new skills as a result.

Ability Score Improvement
Ability scores are linked to the maturity rate of the profession. In real life, our growth and experiences are key factors that make us smarter, faster, or wiser. Some archetypes mature slower than others simply because their profession may limit their experiences.

Specialty Points
Each profession has a unique set of skills or abilities called a specialty. A specialty is carried out by use of a specialty point and typically accompanied by an action or secondary action. A specialty point is used to determine how many times your character can perform specific actions unique to that profession. Specialty points are based on an ability score and are indicated in the specialty's description. Specialty points are not pooled and then divided among the different actions you can perform. Instead, each specialty has their own number of specialty points. Except where otherwise stated, you must take a long rest to regain spent specialty points. If no specialty point is required or the specialty description does not designate a limit on the number of times you can perform the act, you are free to perform this action as much as you like (at will). Some abilities may allow you to add additional bonuses to determine the number of specialty points you have available. Some specialties do not use your action or a secondary action, but will state how many times within a turn the specialty can be used. In such a case, you are to inform the Architect when you wish to use your specialty, temporarily interrupting the Initiative order to do so.

Accuracy Points

Gunslingers have incredible marksmanship that can easily impress or intimidate. Their prowess is well regarded throughout the known galaxies. Gunslingers have an additional skill set which is used by expending accuracy points. Accuracy points allow you to add special techniques to your energy ranged weapon attacks. You must indicate your use of an accuracy point and the specific technique you are attempting before your engagement roll. You regain your accuracy points at the end of a long rest, unless otherwise stated.